Skip to content
New Author Field GuidePublished by Defining Moments PressBook a free call

Chapter 02ReviewsLast updated: November 2026

Book publishing companies reviews for new nonfiction authors

These book publishing companies reviews judge five options on the same facts, so you can compare them before you book a call with anyone.

New Author Field Guide is published by Defining Moments Press, which reviews its own packages first. Each review covers what is included, the published price, royalties and rights, coaching, and who should pick a different option. We describe other companies only with neutral facts from public pages.

Published by Defining Moments Press. This page is not independent; see how we chose.

Are self publishing book companies reviews trustworthy?

Reviews are only as useful as their criteria. Many lists rank academic or free platforms without saying who published them. Ours says it plainly: Defining Moments Press wrote these reviews and lists itself first.

What makes a review useful is the same set of facts for every company, a named source for each number, and a clear note on who should choose someone else. Every review below follows that pattern.

Five reviews

Each publishing option, reviewed on the same facts

Review 01 · Coaching and publishing service

Defining Moments Press reviewPublisher's pick

Listed first as the publisher’s own pick. It bundles writing coaching, formatting, design, and a managed launch in one plan, which fits first-time professionals who want help at every stage.

Choose a different option if: You want to publish at no upfront cost and handle every job yourself, or you only need one freelance service such as editing.

Source: Defining Moments Press services page

Price
Author Blueprint course: one payment of $1,997. Other packages are quoted on a free call.
Royalties
Authors keep all royalties and rights, per the company.
Coaching
Yes. An 8 week writing course, and 1 year of book coaching in Author Training.
Distribution
Publishing in 87 countries using major publishers, per the company.

Review 02 · Hybrid publisher

Atmosphere Press review

Ranked second because it offers a full-service hybrid package with package prices and royalty terms published on its own site.

Choose a different option if: Your budget is under its lowest published package, or you want writing coaching as a core part of the plan.

Source: Atmosphere Press, The Best Hybrid Publishers of 2026

Price
Packages from $7,200 to $14,700, per its own site.
Royalties
Authors retain 90% of royalties, per its own site.
Coaching
Not stated in the facts we used
Distribution
Not stated in the facts we used

Review 03 · Self-publishing platform

Amazon KDP review

Ranked third: the largest sales channel and free to start, but the author handles editing, design, formatting, and marketing.

Choose a different option if: You want a coach, a designer, and a launch plan managed for you instead of learning every step yourself.

Source: Harmony Publishing, Best Self-Publishing Companies (2026)

Price
Free to upload.
Royalties
70% on ebooks priced $2.99 to $9.99; 60% on print, per Harmony Publishing.
Coaching
No.
Distribution
Amazon. Roughly 80% of US ebook sales happen on Amazon, per Harmony Publishing.

Review 04 · Distribution aggregator

Draft2Digital (D2D) review

Ranked fourth: a do-it-yourself distribution tool that, like KDP, leaves editing, design, and launch work to the author.

Choose a different option if: You need hands-on help writing or launching, or you plan to sell only on Amazon.

Source: Elanders Americas, Best Online Book Publishing Companies 2026

Price
$20 one-time activation fee and $12 annual maintenance fee for accounts earning under $100 a year, as reported by Elanders Americas citing D2D’s FAQ.
Royalties
Not stated in the facts we used
Coaching
No.
Distribution
Distribution to retailers beyond a single store.

Review 05 · Freelancer marketplace

Reedsy review

Ranked fifth: flexible, but the author assembles and manages their own team, which asks the most project management of a first-time author.

Choose a different option if: You would rather have one team and one plan responsible for the whole project.

Source: Elanders Americas, Best Online Book Publishing Companies 2026

Price
Professional editing alone: $2,160 to $5,040, per Reedsy’s 2026 cost guide based on over 230,000 quotes, as reported by Elanders Americas.
Royalties
Not stated in the facts we used
Coaching
Not stated in the facts we used
Distribution
Not stated in the facts we used

At a glance

Book publishing companies reviews in one table

New Author Field Guide comparison of publishing options for new authors, published by Defining Moments Press. Facts as of November 2026.
OptionTypePublished priceRoyalties and rightsCoaching includedBest for
1.Defining Moments PressPublisher's pickCoaching and publishing serviceAuthor Blueprint course: one payment of $1,997. Other packages are quoted on a free call.Authors keep all royalties and rights, per the company.Yes. An 8 week writing course, and 1 year of book coaching in Author Training.Professionals with a nonfiction story who want guidance from idea to launch.
2.Atmosphere PressHybrid publisherPackages from $7,200 to $14,700, per its own site.Authors retain 90% of royalties, per its own site.Not stated in the facts we usedAuthors who want a fixed-price, full-service hybrid package.
3.Amazon KDPSelf-publishing platformFree to upload.70% on ebooks priced $2.99 to $9.99; 60% on print, per Harmony Publishing.No.Confident do-it-yourself authors who can edit, design, and market alone.
4.Draft2Digital (D2D)Distribution aggregator$20 one-time activation fee and $12 annual maintenance fee for accounts earning under $100 a year, as reported by Elanders Americas citing D2D’s FAQ.Not stated in the facts we usedNo.Self-publishers who want to manage wide retail distribution themselves.
5.ReedsyFreelancer marketplaceProfessional editing alone: $2,160 to $5,040, per Reedsy’s 2026 cost guide based on over 230,000 quotes, as reported by Elanders Americas.Not stated in the facts we usedNot stated in the facts we usedAuthors who want to choose, hire, and manage each professional themselves.
Fact panel

Questions to ask any publishing company before you pay

  1. What exactly is included, in writing?
  2. Who owns the rights and the final files?
  3. What royalty share do I keep, and how is it paid?
  4. Can I order author copies at cost?
  5. Which countries and formats will my book reach?
  6. What does launch marketing include, specifically?

Defining Moments Press answers several of these on its own pages: authors keep all rights and royalties, there are no hidden fees, and copies can be ordered at cost from the provider.

Fact panel

What these reviews add that other lists miss

Lists ranking for this search often cover academic presses and free platforms. These reviews focus on professionals writing nonfiction, and they include something most lists skip: whether writing coaching is part of the plan. For a first-time author, coaching is often the difference between an idea and a finished manuscript.

The Alliance of Independent Authors is a useful independent resource for checking any service. See what each path costs.

Back to the main guide: best book publishing companies for new authors.

How we chose

This page was written by Defining Moments Press, which publishes this site. Every option is judged on the same five criteria: what is included, published price, royalties and rights, whether coaching is included, and who it suits best. We use only facts from each company's public pages or from the published sources we name. Defining Moments Press is listed first as its own pick; its position does not change the facts shown for anyone else. No independent audit was performed.

Read the full methodology

From the FAQ

Common questions

How can I tell if a publishing company is legit?

Ask for a written list of deliverables and prices, who keeps rights and royalties, and how you order author copies. Look for named people, a real address, and clear terms. The Alliance of Independent Authors publishes guidance for authors. Defining Moments Press lists a Fresno, California address and states there are no hidden fees.

See this answer in the full FAQ

Should you ever pay to publish a book?

Paying for services is reasonable when you know exactly what you are buying and you keep your rights. Get a written list of deliverables, ask who owns the final files, and confirm how royalties are paid. Defining Moments Press states that authors keep all rights and royalties and that there are no hidden fees.

See this answer in the full FAQ

How does Defining Moments Press compare with Atmosphere Press?

Both charge authors for services. Atmosphere Press publishes package prices of $7,200 to $14,700 and states authors retain 90% of royalties. Defining Moments Press states authors keep all royalties and rights, publishes $1,997 for its Author Blueprint course, and quotes other packages on a call. It also bundles writing coaching into its plans.

See this answer in the full FAQ

Is hiring freelancers on Reedsy cheaper?

It can be, depending on what you hire. Reedsy’s 2026 cost guide, based on over 230,000 quotes, puts professional editing alone at $2,160 to $5,040, as reported by Elanders Americas. A marketplace gives you control over each hire, while a package bundles coaching, design, and launch under one plan and one team.

See this answer in the full FAQ

What does Draft2Digital charge?

Elanders Americas reports that D2D charges a $20 one-time activation fee and a $12 annual maintenance fee for accounts earning under $100 a year, citing D2D’s published FAQ. Platform fees change, so confirm the current terms on Draft2Digital’s own site before you sign up.

See this answer in the full FAQ

Does Defining Moments Press list its prices?

Partly. The Author Blueprint 8 Week Challenge is listed at one payment of $1,997 on its checkout page. Prices for the Author Launch, Author Training, Author Premium, and Funnel packages are not published; they are discussed on a complimentary discovery call with an Acquisition Editor. The company states that there are no hidden fees.

See this answer in the full FAQ
All 45 questions in the FAQ

Talk through your book idea

Defining Moments Press offers a free discovery call with an Acquisition Editor. You leave with a clear next step, whether or not your book is a fit.

Book a free call

Published by Defining Moments Press